The third outing from Malmö’s finest – And the broken – opens with „Bad PR“. The thunderous drums and ringing guitars evoke The Who anno 1966 but unlike the girl in „A quick one, while he’s away“, who sought solace in Ivor the Engine Driver, our „pretty boy“ is not forgiven. The song could be viewed as a comment on a sickening attempt at damage control by a perpetrator sharing initials with the abbreviation in the title. Bad PR, indeed. 

The second track, „Don’t come knocking“ with its masterfully executed, Stax-influenced arrangement – sparse tremolo guitars, bubbling Hammond and a fantastic five-piece horn section – paints a sordid picture of lies, broken dreams, and exploitation. It’s essentially a cry for help.

The closing song „Orion“ offers nothing of the sort. Other than the realization that in the grand scheme of things our time here is so incredibly short; blink and you miss me. 

However, don’t miss out on this EP – it is essential listening.

Track listing
1. Bad PR 04:37
2. Don’t Come Knocking 04:06
3. Orion 01:05

Malmö, September 2021

Older but not necessarily wiser, and sometimes ailing. Unlike garage rock luminaries “? and the Mysterians”, the latest addition to the Malmö music scene – “and the Broken” skips the flamboyant lead character altogether. These seasoned musicians and songwriters hailing from bands like Emerald Park, Björn’s vänner, Golden Kanine and Chunks/God Grows His Own, each manages to steal the spotlight in their own right.Influences? Anything from Alice Babs to Alice Coltrane; Beachwood Sparks to Big Star; Yung Lean to Old Dirty Bastard (although if you asked any member of the band face to face it would probably take less than five seconds before either Wilco or Teenage Fanclub were mentioned – so much for trying to be hip).Recordings for the as yet unnamed debut album began in earnest during the winter of 2020-21 after a small lineup change, and the stunning debut double A-side single “The Flu/Someday” is available NOW at the usual streaming sites (yada yada…).

Måns Katsler: drums; harmony vocals
Conny Fridh: electric bass guitar; harmony vocals
Linus Lindvall: electric 6-string and baritone guitar; harmony vocals
Johan Hellsten: electric 6 and 12-string guitar
Tobias Borelius: lead vocals